Bayerische Landesbank (or BayernLB) is a public regional bank in Germany, central institution for the Bavarian savings banks, headquartered in Munich.

It was established by the State Law of 27 June 1972, as a result of the merger of Bayerische Community Bank and Bavarian Landesbodenkreditanstalt – Girozentrale.

Business Data

Balance sheet total: EUR 286 823 000 000 Deposits: EUR 90.819 billion Customer loans: EUR 150 612 000 000 Employees: 9,932 With consolidated total assets of 287 billion euros (2012) the company is one of the largest banks in Germany, behind the Landesbank Baden-Württemberg, the country's second-largest bank. The sole owner of the bank since September 9, 2002 is BayernLB Holding AG. Indirect owners of this holding are the Free State of Bavaria and the Savings Banks Association of Bavaria. In addition to its headquarters, BayernLB is represented by branches in Munich and Nuremberg, and sales offices in Düsseldorf and Essen. It has ownership interest of 49.9% or more of the following major companies:

  • Deutsche Kreditbank Berlin 100,0%
  • BayernInvest Kapitalanlagegesellschaft mbH München 100,0%
  • MKB Bank Budapest, Hungary 98,6%
  • Banque LBLux S. A. Luxemburg 100,0%
  • Real I.S. AG München 100,0%

Head office location address

Brienner Straße 18 80333 Munich, Germany


Tel: +49 89 2171-01 Fax: +49 89 2171-23578

Banking codes

Bank code: 700 500 00 SWIFT BIC code: BYLA DEMM XXX

Get Directions

Locations of bank's ATMs / branches